Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-26 08:29:01

Kieths
Contributor
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 18

PM3UniversalGUI not displaying some PM3 lf command results

Issue: One of more commands under PM3UniversalGUI fail to respond / provide expected output.

Steps to reproduce (example 1):
    a) Select current COM port
    b) Select PM3\lf\read    (results: Top panel: "Sending bytes to proxmark failed - offline", other panels blank)
    c) Click Run (button on right, center)  (results: No change to display.  Attempted to scan a card, PM3 device timed out, auto-reset after 35 seconds).

Steps to reproduce (example 2):
    a) Select current COM port
    b) Select PM3\lf\read    (results: Top panel: "Sending bytes to proxmark failed - offline", other panels blank)
    c) Click Run (button on right, center)  (results: No change to display.  Attempted to scan a card, then:
        i) Press PM3 device button to reset/stop read. (note: No change to display)
        ii) Select PM3\hw\ver, and click Run (button on right, center)  (results: Item #2 below, output of "hw ver").

Conclusion: Based on the above results, it appears that:
    A) PM3UniversalGUI does not display output directly following the "lf hid read" command, though it does appear to trigger and perform the operation with output to buffers
    B) Issuing the "lf hid read" command without manually stopping/resetting the PM3 device after a short period (>20 sec) appears to result in a time out and auto reset of the PM3 device at approx. 35 seconds (note: this behavior is not observed under the proxmark3.exe terminal, which appears not to have any such timeout limitation)



PM3 System Configuration:
=========================
1) Release: official-64-20190125-1511ea28a8cc647a6fc462e9c182622a43df1318

2) Output of "hw ver" (after issuing the command, "lf hid read", scanning several swipes with no output, then pressing button to reset; TAG ID has been obscured):

proxmark3> hw ver
#db# TAG ID: 211cxxxxxx (xxxxx)         
#db# TAG ID: 211cxxxxxx (xxxxx)
#db# TAG ID: 211cxxxxxx (xxxxx)
#db# TAG ID: 211cxxxxxx (xxxxx)         
#db# Stopped         
Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument         
bootrom: master/v2.2.0-271-g910ad54-dirty-suspect 2016-12-19 18:01:16
os: master/v3.1.0-52-g1511ea2-suspect 2019-01-25 16:37:01
fpga_lf.bit built for 2s30vq100 on 2015/03/06 at 07:38:04
fpga_hf.bit built for 2s30vq100 on 2018/11/28 at 08:33:11
SmartCard Slot: not available
         
uC: AT91SAM7S256 Rev B         
Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI         
Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 256K bytes. Used: 202541 bytes (77%). Free: 59603 bytes (23%).         
Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None         
Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes         
Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series         
Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory         

3) Proxmark3 (Original), LF Antenna (GeZhi)

4) Windows 10 Pro x64

Offline

#2 2019-01-26 19:08:49

gator96100
Contributor
From: Austria
Registered: 2016-03-25
Posts: 145

Re: PM3UniversalGUI not displaying some PM3 lf command results

The PM3UniversalGUI was created by the user burma and I did include it in the precompiled builds. That said, the version I included was outdated, I changed my build script to automatically download the newest version. If this bug still exists, please create an issue on https://github.com/burma69/PM3UniversalGUI


modhex(hligicighgidilhkfchihtijduhbif)

Offline

#3 2019-01-26 19:13:54

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,272
Website

Re: PM3UniversalGUI not displaying some PM3 lf command results

oo, I didn't know you added it to your precompiled builds?   Good thinking


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#4 2019-01-26 22:43:55

Kieths
Contributor
Registered: 2015-04-21
Posts: 18

Re: PM3UniversalGUI not displaying some PM3 lf command results

Hi Gator,

First, I Greatly Appreciate your having chosen to include the PM3UniversalGUI in your builds, as it serves as a reminder of many of the more obscure commands, as well as their usage and switches.  I also appreciate your plan to make a provision in your script to download the latest version of the GUI utility, and a link for further GUI support if needed.

I will first update to the latest GUI utility version, and if that fails to resolve the issue, I will pursue the support link provided, and later provide a link here to the resolution for any others facing this, or similar issues in the future.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB