Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2017-06-15 07:33:02

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

need help in using GIT

i have this fault: git seems not to see the release tag v3.0 or v3.0.1

How can I set it right?

pm3 ~$ cd c:/r301
pm3 /c/r301$ git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/tree/v3.0.1
Cloning into 'v3.0.1'...
warning: templates not found C:\ProxSpace\msys\mingw/share/git-core/templates
remote: Not Found
fatal: repository 'https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/tree/v3.0.1/' not found

pm3 /c/r301$ git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/tree/v3.0
Cloning into 'v3.0'...
warning: templates not found C:\ProxSpace\msys\mingw/share/git-core/templates
remote: Not Found
fatal: repository 'https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/tree/v3.0/' not found

pm3 /c/r301$ git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3
Cloning into 'proxmark3'...
warning: templates not found C:\ProxSpace\msys\mingw/share/git-core/templates
remote: Counting objects: 11296, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (21/21), done.
remote: Total 11296 (delta 11), reused 15 (delta 7), pack-reused 11268
Receiving objects: 100% (11296/11296), 19.87 MiB | 440.00 KiB/s, done.
Resolving deltas: 100% (8368/8368), done.
Checking out files: 100% (947/947), done.

pm3 /c/r301$ git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/releases/tag/v3.0.1
Cloning into 'v3.0.1'...
warning: templates not found C:\ProxSpace\msys\mingw/share/git-core/templates
fatal: https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/releases/tag/v3.0.1/info/refs not v
alid: is this a git repository?
pm3 /c/r301$

"git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3" is working, but with that I could pick more than only the intended latest release 3.0.1.

Offline

#2 2017-06-15 07:36:39

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 9,497
Website

Re: need help in using GIT

I'm  not a git pro,  but when you clone a repo you get the latest source from it. 
If you want a dedicated release,  see post below from @mollusc


[edited] removed

Offline

#3 2017-06-15 07:56:00

mollusc
Contributor
From: Vic - Australia
Registered: 2017-05-01
Posts: 33

Re: need help in using GIT

Based on the commands you're trying, I'm guessing you're used to SVN. Git works pretty differently smile
This should achieve what you're trying to do:

git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3.git
cd proxmark3
git checkout v3.0.1

Last edited by mollusc (2017-06-15 07:56:12)

Offline

#4 2017-06-15 14:28:28

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

Re: need help in using GIT

thank you I will try this evening. my mobile data line is not very stable today

Offline

#5 2017-06-16 03:00:48

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

Re: need help in using GIT

this is what I get. Does it look correct?

pm3 ~$ cd c:/r301
pm3 /c/r301$
pm3 /c/r301$ git clone https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3.git
Cloning into 'proxmark3'...
warning: templates not found C:\ProxSpace\msys\mingw/share/git-core/templates
remote: Counting objects: 11296, done.
remote: Compressing objects: 100% (21/21), done.
remote: Total 11296 (delta 11), reused 15 (delta 7), pack-reused 11268Receiving objects: 100% (11296/11296), 19.87 MiB | 402.00 KiB/s, done.

Resolving deltas: 100% (8368/8368), done.
Checking out files: 100% (947/947), done.
pm3 /c/r301$
pm3 /c/r301$ cd proxmark3
pm3 /c/r301/proxmark3$
pm3 /c/r301/proxmark3$ git checkout v3.0.1
Note: checking out 'v3.0.1'.

You are in 'detached HEAD' state. You can look around, make experimental
changes and commit them, and you can discard any commits you make in this
state without impacting any branches by performing another checkout.

If you want to create a new branch to retain commits you create, you may
do so (now or later) by using -b with the checkout command again. Example:

  git checkout -b <new-branch-name>

HEAD is now at 8040afa... Merge pull request #315 from marshmellow42/master
pm3 /c/r301/proxmark3$
pm3 /c/r301/proxmark3$

strange that before we tell GIT we want r3.0.1 it does all the file downloading ... how does it know we want r3.01 and not R3.0 or all the non-release files at HEAD of SW tree? Mystic...

Offline

#6 2017-07-04 08:55:51

YoungJules
Contributor
Registered: 2012-01-29
Posts: 60

Re: need help in using GIT

To avoid the 'detached HEAD' warning (always sounds a bit worrying), you could have used:

git checkout -b r301 v3.0.1

This would have created a branch called r301 for you (you can call your branch whatever you like), based on v3.0.1. As the help helpfully says, you could instead have simply typed (after the checkout command you did):

git checkout -b r301

to make a branch called r301 based on the v3.0.1 that you checked out.

Offline

#7 2017-07-04 10:15:36

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

Re: need help in using GIT

Thank you for the tips YoungJules.

mine problem is there is a potential misunderstanding between 2 proxmark3 SW users.  They could base their argument/discussion on one git-branched at 00:01 on the 4/7 and the other git-branched at 23:59 on 4/7 when an issue is uncovert not on the day of the release 3.0.1 announcement, but perhaps weeks or months later. Their SW quality could be different depending on amount of releases during those time passing period, as piwi once has stated on the thread Git and SW

"
Developers are quite active these days.

v3.0.1-22 has 22 new commits since v3.0.1
v3.0.1-26 has 26 new commits since v3.0.1
"
Hence my little concern, but I am not working on SW directly...

In a company any engineer release to SW tree would have to get an approved label. So exact labelled content always months after can be retraced. But we are at open source so different rule applies. Sometimes my concerning could be right, but most of the time when there is quiet time, it would not be a big problem to early cared for though, and most of the time we users were happy with anything we could get.

Offline

#8 2017-07-05 13:52:17

YoungJules
Contributor
Registered: 2012-01-29
Posts: 60

Re: need help in using GIT

Not sure I see the problem. You talk about git-branched at 1 minute past midnight and then git-branched almost 24 hours later I presume. But it's not clear how this would lead to a problem. If you mean 2 different developers doing (for e.g.)

git checkout -b Working v3.0.1

at different times on the same day, it doesn't really matter whether it's the same day or not. Each developer will need to fetch and rebase now and then, to keep abreast of changes being made by other developers, and eventually their work (with commits attributed individually to each developer) will need to get merged in by someone authorised to update the central repository. Open source doesn't mean no control!

Last edited by YoungJules (2017-07-05 14:24:07)

Offline

#9 2017-07-06 14:14:25

ntk
Contributor
Registered: 2015-05-24
Posts: 701

Re: need help in using GIT

thanks you for explaining to how it work with SW development.
"Each developer will need to fetch and rebase now and then, to keep abreast of changes being made by other developers, and eventually their work (with commits attributed individually to each developer) will need to get merged in by someone authorised to update the central repository"
the key I understood here is "will need to get merged in by someone authorised to update the central repository" every code designer working on their branches, only authorised person will merged in the central/main repository and update with a new label.

It is clearer now.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB