Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-07 06:57:07

rfidboi
Contributor
Registered: 2017-01-31
Posts: 16

Unable to Upgrade PM3 Easy (rev 3.0)

I keep trying to upgrade the firmware (fullimage) and the bootloader without any success. I grabbed the latest source from github.
Full Image failure:

./flasher /dev/ttyACM0 ../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf
Loading ELF file '../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00102000 P 0x00102000 (0x0002aa40->0x0002aa40) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x0012ca40 (0x00001a38->0x00001a38) [RW ] @0x2aad4
Note: Extending previous segment from 0x2aa40 to 0x2c478 bytes

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/ttyACM0. Found.
Entering bootloader...
(Press and release the button only to abort)
Waiting for Proxmark to reappear on /dev/ttyACM0...... Found.
Sending bytes to proxmark failed

Bootloader Failure. It just stays here.

./flasher /dev/ttyACM0 -b ../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf
Loading ELF file '../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00100000 P 0x00100000 (0x00000200->0x00000200) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x00100200 (0x00000b68->0x00000b68) [R X] @0x298

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/ttyACM0. Found.

"hw status" gives me "unknown command" and I constantly have to unplug/replug the pm3 due to errors when first running the client. One time it randomly gave me this info when running the client - not directly after running "hw status":

#db# Prox/RFID mark3 RFID instrument          
#db# bootrom: /-suspect 2015-04-02 TIME          
#db# os: /-suspect 2015-04-02 TIME          
#db# HF FPGA image built on 2015/03/09 at TIME

Any tips on how to upgrade this would be much appreciated, thanks.

Last edited by rfidboi (2018-02-07 07:01:11)

Offline

#2 2018-02-07 20:17:39

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,295

Re: Unable to Upgrade PM3 Easy (rev 3.0)

Note: topic moved to more appropriate section.

it appears the device firmware may be corrupt or on an unstable version.
jtag maybe your only solution...

Offline

#3 2018-02-07 20:23:46

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,295

Re: Unable to Upgrade PM3 Easy (rev 3.0)

sounds similar to this post http://www.proxmark.org/forum/viewtopic … 114#p31114
basically you may have gotten a bad imitation pm3 version that requires jtag for firmware updates...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB