Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-25 19:47:26

IlikeToPlayWithNewToys
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 15

[Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Hi all,

Apologies for the lack of detail in this post, I'll edit it when I'm in front of the Proxmark again tomorrow, I've got a reasonable amount of stuff from the terminal which might help.

I've been running on an older Iceman build for a while, and had a tag that wasn't recognized so I decided to flash my proxmark RDV2 with the Iceman build from today.

Bootloader appeared to go on OK, but when attempting to Flash the full image everything hung. Now my Proxmark reboots every 16.5 seconds exactly, and I can't get a new image onto it. I'm using Linux if that helps.

I've tried flashing the older Iceman build I had, and even the official build and the issue is the same - my Proxmark is recognized by the OS and assigned a TTY port, I get a few seconds into the fullimage flash, when the device reboots and I only get part of the image on there.

I've read several threads which imply that I should hold down the button before connecting the device, which will put it in bootloader mode and I can just flash from there. However mine doesn't appear to do this, if I hold the button down the lights on the front continue to be green and blue (no red).

I've considered flashing a new bootloader to see if that will allow me to then boot into 'bootloader' mode so I can flash a full image, but I'm wary about doing this just in case the bootloader gets hosed, as I don't have a buspirate/JTAG programmer that I can use to properly unbrick it.

Help!

Last edited by IlikeToPlayWithNewToys (2017-10-26 12:53:33)

Offline

#2 2017-10-25 20:04:52

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Sorry to hear,

You should flash pm3 offical bootrom and fullimage.    That will give you a stable device.

The button press - method
you are missing one critical step.   
1. unplug pm3
2. press button and keep it pressed.
3. plug in pm3 while keeping button pressed
4. flash  while keeping button pressed
5. once finished,  release button unplug / plug in once more..


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#3 2017-10-25 20:24:19

IlikeToPlayWithNewToys
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Thanks for the help iceman.

Unfortunately I've already tried that. If I remember rightly, the proxmark wasn't detected when I held down the button and attempted to flash. If I've mis-remembered that bit, then I've definitely tried flashing the iceman full image with the button held down - same result, it didn't work.

Are you suggesting that I download the latest official pm3 bootloader first, then try their fullimage? With the device going from lights-on to the relay clicking sound in 16 seconds, will that be enough time to flash the new bootloader? I think I said in the original post that I've tried an older official image already, but couldn't get it to flash due to the reboot loop.

I did some searching and I couldn't find it - but is there a description somewhere of which mode the proxmark is in with the lights? I assume I want to try to get it into a 'bootloader only' mode, but I can't figure out when it's in that mode from the lights.


Apologies for the lack of detail - I've left the proxmark in work overnight until tomorrow.

Last edited by IlikeToPlayWithNewToys (2017-10-25 20:24:59)

Offline

#4 2017-10-25 20:37:19

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

You could be lucky.   Try it.   Latest source from offical pm3.  compile and flash.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#5 2017-10-25 20:38:50

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

By the way?  yesterday?!?  That bootrom and fullimage is stable from resets.  Did you compile the source or download gator9600 pre-compiled binaries?


Sounds more and more like you could just flash pm3 offical bootrom and the device will not reset anymore.
then u flash fullimage.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#6 2017-10-25 20:47:22

IlikeToPlayWithNewToys
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

I cloned the git repo about 6 hours ago, and it was all (bootloader / fullimage) compiled from source.

I assume that if the proxmark reboots itself while I'm part of the way through flashing the official bootrom I'll have to find someone with a JTAG programmer to fix it?

Offline

#7 2017-10-25 21:10:32

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

yep,  or invest in a jtag programmer like a segger,  buspirate or which ever device that does the trick and is cheap.
When you are playing with flashing firmwares,  you need a backup plan. Always have a backup plan.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#8 2017-10-26 09:12:12

IlikeToPlayWithNewToys
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Unfortunately your suggestion didn't work. I downloaded and compiled the official build yesterday and the results were the same.

1. unplug pm3
2. press button and keep it pressed.
3. plug in pm3 while keeping button pressed
4. release button otherwise proxmark isn't detected
5. Run flasher

root@kali:~/Desktop/proxmark3_offical_Oct2017/client# ./flasher /dev/ttyACM0 -b ../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf 
Loading ELF file '../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00100000 P 0x00100000 (0x00000200->0x00000200) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x00100200 (0x00000cc8->0x00000cc8) [R X] @0x298

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/ttyACM0................................................................................................... Found.

Flashing...
Writing segments for file: ../bootrom/obj/bootrom.elf
 0x00100000..0x001001ff [0x200 / 1 blocks]. OK
 0x00100200..0x00100ec7 [0xcc8 / 7 blocks]....... OK

Resetting hardware...
All done.

Have a nice day!


root@kali:~/Desktop/proxmark3_offical_Oct2017/client# ./flasher /dev/ttyACM0 ../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf 
Loading ELF file '../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00102000 P 0x00102000 (0x0002cc78->0x0002cc78) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x0012ec78 (0x00001a9c->0x00001a9c) [RW ] @0x2cd0c
Note: Extending previous segment from 0x2cc78 to 0x2e714 bytes

Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/ttyACM0........ Found.

Flashing...
Writing segments for file: ../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf
 0x00102000..0x00130713 [0x2e714 / 372 blocks].....................................................

The proxmark then reboots every 16 seconds again. I left it overnight to see if it would incrementally flash the image but it just kept rebooting.

Is there a mini stripped down fullimage I can use to at least get it to boot so I can flash a proper full image on it? Or a way to put it into a debug mode so the full OS doesn't load? I find it very strange it just keeps rebooting regardless of what I do with the button.

Offline

#9 2017-10-26 10:58:22

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

ah,   ok, 
I think I know your problem...   Its the modemmanager.  running on linux distro, 

you need to run  "make udev"   on icemanfork the easiest way

since it also adds your user to the dialout group,  you might need to logout and login again for that change to be effective



You ran an old iceman version before, that one has a different vid/pid,   which your old udev rules (blacklisting) has in it.
This changed a couple of months ago,


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#10 2017-10-26 12:53:09

IlikeToPlayWithNewToys
Contributor
Registered: 2017-03-20
Posts: 15

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Yes! That appeared to have fixed it. I couldn't get the bootloader to flash again, but using the offical bootloader on the device I flashed the iceman fork image and it seems to be usable again. For anyone else suffering from this, these were my commands.

root@kali:~/Desktop/proxmark3_iceman_Oct2017# make udev
sudo cp -rf driver/77-mm-usb-device-blacklist.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/77-mm-usb-device-blacklist.rules
sudo udevadm control --reload-rules
sudo adduser root dialout
The user `root' is already a member of `dialout'.
root@kali:~/Desktop/proxmark3_iceman_Oct2017/client# ./flasher /dev/ttyACM0 ../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf 
Loading ELF file '../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf'...
Loading usable ELF segments:
0: V 0x00102000 P 0x00102000 (0x00034d90->0x00034d90) [R X] @0x94
1: V 0x00200000 P 0x00136d90 (0x00001a14->0x00001a14) [RW ] @0x34e24
Note: Extending previous segment from 0x34d90 to 0x367a4 bytes

...............................................Waiting for Proxmark to appear on /dev/ttyACM0 Found.

Flashing...
Writing segments for file: ../armsrc/obj/fullimage.elf
 0x00102000..0x001387a3 [0x367a4 / 436 blocks].................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... OK

Resetting hardware...
All done.

Have a nice day!

Many thanks iceman

Offline

#11 2017-10-26 14:48:16

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 6,002
Website

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

For future reference,

The telltale sign is pm3 working for 16seconds. Then the modemmanager kicks in and drops the device.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#12 2019-05-07 00:31:27

foamfield
Contributor
Registered: 2019-04-22
Posts: 5

Re: [Solved] Another "Iceman fork bricked my Proxmark" thread

Anyone have a suggestion on how to do this from terminal? 
OS: Mac OS X v10.14.4
Proxmark3 - rdev4

Trying to flash iceman fork, and stuck with the same 16 second issue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB