Proxmark3 community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.

"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Time changes and with it the technology
Proxmark3 @ discord

Users of this forum, please be aware that information stored on this site is not private.

#1 2013-05-09 11:49:16

hlange

How to check type of unknown card

Hello,
in the documentation I've followed the instructions how to check if a card is lf or hf. But after this check there are a plenty of card types left. Is there a good way how to find out what specific type the card is? Are there any standard procedures I can go through?

I'm a newbie in RFID. I'll be happy for any kind of help. Link for HowTos or Docs are nice, too.

Thanks for your help.

Harald

#2 2013-05-09 12:59:58

o0o0o0o
Contributor

Re: How to check type of unknown card

You can start by posting a picture of your card (both sides)
And if you can, open it and post a picture of what is inside (chip+antenna)

#3 2013-05-09 16:53:32

hlange

Ok, thanks.
So there is no way to check the card type by reading raw data samples at look at the plot? Or something similar?

#4 2013-06-25 19:57:12

marshmellow
Contributor

for HF you can try the different Reader functions (hf 14a reader which will attempt to identify a iso14443a chip)

for LF you can do a lf read - data samples 12000 - and then attempt a demodulate depending on what type you suspect it is.  if lf indalademod works then it is likely a form of indala (or at least psk encoded).  if lf hid demod gives the expected output then it is an hid compatible card. 
if all else fails you can do a data plot after data samples and look at the wave form to try to identify the modulation - and/or the repeating bit pattern.