Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-09-08 03:25:06

vrocco
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-28
Posts: 15

RRG RFID Tools Android App

I can’t for the life of me get my Proxmark with Blue Shark to work with the new Android app. RDV4 git cloned  the newest RRG/Iceman release. Compiled using Makefile.platform with BT Addon enabled and then firmware flashed to the RDV4.

Device pairs with BT on my Android device. However, it never asks me to select a port. When I open the app, in the discovery window, it shows no devices found. Blue light always flashes and never goes solid.

What am I doing wrong here? My android device is an older one. Is there a minimum supported device level or Android level?

Last edited by vrocco (2019-09-08 03:26:19)

Offline

#2 2019-09-08 10:43:58

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 5,695
Website

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

Nop,  you need to download a special pm3 firmware (based on 12th Aug source from RRG/Iceman)  from proxgrinds site.

One of these days the repo will be able to compile with the needed android changes until then you need to this.

Here is a direct link
https://www.dropbox.com/s/416lsrqpr2lfe … 2.rar?dl=0

And you download the RRG RFID app from playstore.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#3 2019-09-08 16:09:32

vrocco
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-28
Posts: 15

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

Ahhh gotcha. I had assumed those changes had already been integrated into the repo. I’ll try this today. Thanks!

Offline

#4 2019-09-08 17:36:26

vrocco
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-28
Posts: 15

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

OK I just flashed that firmware and I get the same behavior. Looks like it flashed correctly. When I run the 3rd bat file, I get:

======. ===.   ===. ====.     ...iceman fork
==...==.====. ====.   ..=.      ...dedicated to RDV40
======..==.====.==. ====..
==..... ==..==..==.   ..=.    iceman@icesql.net
==.     ==. ... ==. ====..   https://github.com/rfidresearchgroup/proxmark3/
...     ...     ... .....  pre-release v4.0

Support iceman on patreon,   https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001/


[=] Using UART port /com4
[=] Communicating with PM3 over USB-CDC

 [ Proxmark3 RFID instrument ]


 [ CLIENT ]
  client: RRG/Iceman
  compiled with GCC 4.9.2

 [ PROXMARK RDV4 ]
  external flash:                  present
  smartcard reader:                present

 [ PROXMARK RDV4 Extras ]
  FPC USART for BT add-on support: present

 [ ARM ]
  bootrom: RRG/Iceman// 2019-08-12 23:21:45
       os: RRG/Iceman// 2019-08-12 23:23:25
  compiled with GCC 5.3.0

 [ FPGA ]
  LF image built for 2s30vq100 on 2019/ 7/31 at 15:57:16
  HF image built for 2s30vq100 on 2018/ 9/ 3 at 21:40:23

 [ Hardware ]
  --= uC: AT91SAM7S512 Rev B
  --= Embedded Processor: ARM7TDMI
  --= Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: 512K bytes, Used: 272266 bytes (52%) Free: 252022 bytes (48%)          
  --= Second Nonvolatile Program Memory Size: None
  --= Internal SRAM Size: 64K bytes
  --= Architecture Identifier: AT91SAM7Sxx Series
  --= Nonvolatile Program Memory Type: Embedded Flash Memory

However, it still does the same thing on android device. Bluetooth asks me for pin and pairs. says it is paired, but never asks me to specify com port. When I open the app, it still just says "No Devices Found". Anything else I can try??

Offline

#5 2019-09-08 17:51:36

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 5,695
Website

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

looks like you got the special fw in place.   Did you download the app from playstore?  so you have the latest there aswell.  I think you will need to accept giving it rights for using bluetooth.

You will need to email android@rfidresearchgroup.com ,  I have not insight to what might get wrong with the app,  make some screenshots from the app and lets see what happens.


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#6 2019-09-08 17:58:04

vrocco
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-28
Posts: 15

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

Yes latest version from play store. I’ll shoot an email to that address and see if they have any insights. Thanks

Offline

#7 2019-09-08 19:21:57

Cristar_Ingram
Contributor
Registered: 2019-07-06
Posts: 5

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

Be Careful !!!
The app still requires (and I don't know why) an active internet connection at start.
Are you sure to be connected when app displays 'RRG' logo ?

Offline

#8 2019-09-08 23:00:39

vrocco
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-28
Posts: 15

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

Yes I am connected to the internet when it runs.

Offline

#9 2019-09-11 11:22:58

CFusion
Contributor
Registered: 2019-08-31
Posts: 6

Re: RRG RFID Tools Android App

vrocco wrote:

Yes I am connected to the internet when it runs.

Yeah I also had the same problem. I only use the android specifically for testing so it doesn't have a SIM. When I am in the field I'm not usually connected to WiFi. I was getting pissed because it was connecting to Walrus app but not RRG and then I would get back to my place which has WiFi it auto connects to and it works. I would connect to WiFi in the field to re-download and install the app and then it works again. So yeah I run a hotspot with my phone connected to the android every time.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB