Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-24 01:37:21

raveedc
Contributor
Registered: 2019-01-23
Posts: 6

prox says failed- offline on testing steps when typing HW commands

i just received a proxmark 3 rdv4 and have installed homebrew on my MAC OS
i have also installed XCODE & MAC PORTS.
proxmark3> hw status
Sending bytes to proxmark failed - offline         
Status command failed. USB Speed Test timed out     

When i try any of the HW commands i get the message that my proxmark failed and is offline...

its literally connected to my mac with the usb...

i disconnected it many times and have tried the testing procedure on the getting started github page and every time i try to run the testing commands i get that my proxmark is offline and failing....
i have no idea what this means im sorry im new to this.

Please help

im running mac osx MOJAVE

Also when preparing the environment with macports i downloaded XCode all the way.

when i get to the step in preparing the environment for the paroxmark3 software;
i open a terminal.
then on option 1 step two (where you install components essential to build the proxmark from source i copy and paste sudo port install p7zip readline libusb libusb-compat perl5 wget qt5 arm-none-eabi-gcc pkgconfig
into the terminal and am presented with a warning.

it says:

Warning: Xcode does not appear to be installed; most ports will likely fail to build.

I have downloaded XCODE COMPLAYTELY What is this!?!?!?! im so fucking confused its really pissing me off now

Last edited by raveedc (2019-01-24 02:54:33)

Offline

#2 2019-01-24 05:14:41

patrick
Contributor
Registered: 2019-01-14
Posts: 8

Re: prox says failed- offline on testing steps when typing HW commands

on github it's written that

This guide will most likely work with :
 OSX 10.7 (Lion), 10.8 (Mountain Lion), 10.9 (Mavericks), 10.10 (Yosemite)

moreover it says that

This method is recommended and tested on macOS Sierra 10.12.3

so i downgraded my OS to OS Sierra and it works perfectly.

Do any of the other commands work other than hw status

Did you compile proxmark3 with the right usb modem number/name? (Example: ./proxmark3 /dev/cu.usbmodemXXX] XXX is a number or a name

Last edited by patrick (2019-01-24 05:15:32)

Offline

#3 2019-01-24 08:46:47

Tom5ive
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-18
Posts: 53

Re: prox says failed- offline on testing steps when typing HW commands

Hi guys I’ll update with more info latter (having dinner) but wanted to add in that I am using the lastest Mojave build with no issues on my MacBook and high Sierra on my MacMini with zero issues at all.



Make sure to install Xcode command line tools and not Xcode from the App Store! Also make sure that you compile and then flash the latest firmware before running the client.  You can google how but I will post here in more detail soon.

Last edited by Tom5ive (2019-01-24 08:48:17)

Offline

#4 2019-01-24 10:48:02

Tom5ive
Contributor
Registered: 2017-09-18
Posts: 53

Re: prox says failed- offline on testing steps when typing HW commands

In addition to the above:

You did install the libraries required too yes? Not just homebrew and macports? It's also better to use one or the other not both because you may end up with path issues with both at once.

1. Check to see that you do have xcode command line tools installed - run "xcode-select --version" in the terminal. You should get something like:

tom@SilverBox:~/Git/proxmark3-RRG$ xcode-select --version
xcode-select version 2354.

2.Did you run the install.sh script? If so can you verify that the following is in your path by running "export" in your terminal? You need to have the following lines (exact directory may vary if you have another version of QT installed):

tom@SilverBox:~/Git/proxmark3-RRG$ export
declare -x PKG_CONFIG_PATH="/usr/local/Cellar/qt/5.11.1/lib/pkgconfig/"
declare -x QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE="/usr/local/Cellar/qt/5.11.1/lib/pkgconfig/Qt5Core.p"

If you did not run the script you need to follow the instructions at:
https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/wiki/MacOS

And do the following manually:

  export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/Cellar/qt5/<< INSTALLED VERSION >>/lib/pkgconfig/

  export QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE=$(find /usr -name Qt5Core.pc 2>/dev/null)
  chmod 666 $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE
  echo "moc_location=\${prefix}/bin/moc" >> $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE
  chmod 444 $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE

Which I think should actually be changed in the Wiki to:

    qtDir=$(ls /usr/local/Cellar/qt/ 2>/dev/null | head -1)
    qt5Core=$(find /usr -name Qt5Core.pc 2>/dev/null)

    export PKG_CONFIG_PATH=/usr/local/Cellar/qt/$qtDir/lib/pkgconfig/
    export QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE=$qt5Core
    chmod 666 $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE
    echo "moc_location=\${prefix}/bin/moc" >> $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE
    chmod 444 $QT_PKG_CONFIG_QT5CORE

Simply avoids path issues on OS X running the commands like this instead of the way the WiKi recommends.

Let us know how you go!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB