Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-03-28 11:08:56

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Hi All, Hope someone may be able to assist.
I have just purchase a PM3 from china.
Followed the instructions for windows 7 from //www.proxmark.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1125
All seemed to be going great.
Was able to to do all, but when I got to "make clean" (all good), then when I did "make all", got some of the way, then I got
"proxguiqt.h:17:24: fatal error: QApplication: No such file or directory
compliation terminated.
make[1]: ***[pbj/proxgui.o] Error 1
maker[1]: Leaving directory 'pm3/client'
make: ***[client/all Error 2"

But still say unknown device when I plug the unit into my computer, nothing in the HID area.

cheers

Robert

Offline

#2 2018-03-28 18:25:43

yaowang
Contributor
Registered: 2017-01-11
Posts: 15

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

sudo make

Offline

#3 2018-03-28 21:21:19

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

"sudo make"
Was told to start with//www.proxmark.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1125.
So I followed step by step till  make all.
So you mean instead of testing by doing "make all", just do make

Offline

#4 2018-03-29 04:30:38

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,301

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Looks like your qt directory is not known.  Did you download the compile environment from the wiki?

https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/wiki/Windows

Offline

#5 2018-03-29 10:35:57

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

marshmellow wrote:

Looks like your qt directory is not known.  Did you download the compile environment from the wiki?

https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/wiki/Windows


Done that one as well.

Then targeting to proxmark3.inf, in projects/proxmark3/pm3 for the driver.

I have also put computer in test mode, have disabled driver signing via gpedit.msc, but everthing I do the unit will sit in unkown device, and will not except the driver.

But happy to try again.

Cheers
Robert

Offline

#6 2018-03-29 13:54:43

yaowang
Contributor
Registered: 2017-01-11
Posts: 15

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

I don't know why you want "make" the client
There're bulided file that you can download

If you want let it work in linux,maybe you should ask in http://www.proxmark.org/forum/viewforum.php?id=15

Offline

#7 2018-03-29 21:21:38

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

I was just following the instruction I was given, very new to this, so is there a better solution??.
Still my major issue is unable to load drivers, as my device is a unknown deivice, and windows will not see the driver in
MP3 as a driver for an unknown device.

Robert

Offline

#8 2018-04-01 08:10:03

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

So can Someone tell the name of the driver for Windows 7 64, that would be great.

Robert

Offline

#9 2018-04-01 13:56:53

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,301

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Sounds to me like you got a bad device.  If you hold the button down and connect the pm3 (keep the button pressed) does it detect?

Offline

#10 2018-04-01 22:01:01

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

marshmellow wrote:

Sounds to me like you got a bad device.  If you hold the button down and connect the pm3 (keep the button pressed) does it detect?

I did what you asked, when plugged into top mini usb,  while holding down the button, computer does see the unit, but still it still comes up as unknown device under other devices.

Cheers
Robert

Offline

#11 2018-04-02 08:50:57

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 704

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

As long as your device is not recognized with a correct driver, you cannot flash a new firmware. And without a new firmware you cannot use a new client software.

In device manager please right click on the "unknown device" then select properties, details, Hardware IDs. What do you get? Does it make difference with/without button pressed?

Offline

#12 2018-05-03 00:17:34

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

piwi wrote:

As long as your device is not recognized with a correct driver, you cannot flash a new firmware. And without a new firmware you cannot use a new client software.

In device manager please right click on the "unknown device" then select properties, details, Hardware IDs. What do you get? Does it make difference with/without button pressed?

Ok.
The hardware IDs I get is.
USB\VID_2D2D&PID_504D&REV_0001
USB\VID_2D2D&PID_504D

Makes no different if the button is presses or not.

I also purchased a new unit, still get the same results, unknown device in other devices, and when I upgrade driver, I get Window could not find driver software for your device.

Cheers
Robert

Last edited by Boof_rob (2018-05-03 01:10:22)

Offline

#13 2018-05-03 19:42:46

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 704

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Try this driver file instead:

[Version]
Signature="$Windows NT$"
Class=Ports
ClassGuid={4D36E978-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}
Provider=%ProviderName%
DriverVer=03/05/2018,1.1.1.0

[MANUFACTURER]
%ProviderName%=DeviceList, NTx86, NTamd64

[DeviceList.NTx86]
%DeviceName%=DriverInstall,USB\VID_9AC4&PID_4B8F
%DeviceName_old%=DriverInstall,USB\VID_2d2d&PID_504d

[DeviceList.NTamd64]
%DeviceName%=DriverInstall,USB\VID_9AC4&PID_4B8F
%DeviceName_old%=DriverInstall,USB\VID_2d2d&PID_504d

[DriverInstall]
include=mdmcpq.inf
CopyFiles=FakeModemCopyFileSection
AddReg=LowerFilterAddReg,SerialPropPageAddReg

[DriverInstall.Services]
include = mdmcpq.inf
AddService = usbser, 0x00000002, LowerFilter_Service_Inst

; This adds the serial port property tab to the device properties dialog
[SerialPropPageAddReg]
HKR,,EnumPropPages32,,"MsPorts.dll,SerialPortPropPageProvider"

[Strings]
ProviderName = "proxmark.org"
DeviceName = "Proxmark3"
DeviceName_old = "Proxmark3 (old)"

Offline

#14 2018-05-03 23:48:03

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Try this driver file instead:

That worked, I now have aPromark3 (old) (Com32) in the Ports section of the Device manager. Is that correct??

Robert

Offline

#15 2018-05-04 07:16:00

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 704

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Yes, that is OK. You may now continue with Flashing your Proxmark3 to the latest firmware.

Do NOT try to "Update Proxmark to the new new CDC Serial Interface".

Offline

#16 2018-05-06 11:12:01

Boof_rob
Contributor
From: Inverell, NSW
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 14

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

piwi wrote:

Yes, that is OK. You may now continue with Flashing your Proxmark3 to the latest firmware.

Do NOT try to "Update Proxmark to the new new CDC Serial Interface".

So use the newest firmware from the official site?

Great

Robert

Offline

#17 2018-05-07 06:49:14

piwi
Contributor
Registered: 2013-06-04
Posts: 704

Re: 64bit Window 7 Unknown Device

Any firmware you want. You just need to make sure that the client software and the firmware are the same version.

Last edited by piwi (2018-05-07 06:49:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB