Proxmark3 developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-06-20 21:41:46

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,295

com port changing on you during flash?

if anyone is having trouble with com ports not matching while flashing, make sure to flash the bootrom.elf (remember the -b switch) and fullimage.elf from the latest github master. 

switching between this and old versions or other forks will likely create the issue again as the serial port identifiers have been adjusted.


ps. (on windows) if the flasher is stuck at "waiting for device to appear on...." don't use a .bat file to flash instead do:
from the cmd prompt type the flash command
- wait -
if stuck "waiting" then use 'ctrl c'
run the flash command again to the new com port (look up from device manager)

once fully flashed you won't need to do this.


[note to self - any changes to usb_cdc.c requires bootrom.elf flash]

Offline

#2 2017-06-20 21:49:49

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 5,610
Website

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

and you will need to adjust the blacklist file if you are on *nix distro.   

https://github.com/Proxmark/proxmark3/b … list.rules


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

#3 2017-06-20 22:41:46

gator96100
Contributor
From: Austria
Registered: 2016-03-25
Posts: 131

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

On Windows the com port can be changed in the device manager and the proxmark will always appear as the set com port.
Com Settings

Last edited by gator96100 (2017-06-20 22:48:42)


modhex(hligicighgidilhkfchihtijduhbif)

Offline

#4 2017-06-20 23:47:33

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,295

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

@gator,. While you're correct, you can change the com port, it won't ALWAYS stay that way if you are mixing and matching firmware.  Which is the point of this post.

Offline

#5 2017-06-21 01:26:50

gator96100
Contributor
From: Austria
Registered: 2016-03-25
Posts: 131

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

I never had a problem with mixing firmware. After setting the com port for the old and new driver it should always stay the same.
ps. changing the com port in the device manager while stuck at "waiting" works too, no need to run the flash command again.

Last edited by gator96100 (2017-06-21 01:31:35)


modhex(hligicighgidilhkfchihtijduhbif)

Offline

#6 2017-06-21 02:33:48

marshmellow
Moderator
From: US
Registered: 2013-06-10
Posts: 2,295

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

That would be an option you are correct.  I stand corrected. 
I was just thinking if the device definition changes in the device firmware Windows will always choose a new com port (unless it has seen that device definition before). 
I switch between old, new and other forks fairly often and it is just as easy for me to not bother with force setting the com port and do everything from the command line.

Offline

#7 2017-06-21 09:55:36

iceman
Administrator
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 5,610
Website

Re: com port changing on you during flash?

My comports changes when I fiddle with descriptions inside the usb_cdc.c.

Searching on internet gave me solutions of how to get ride of the "comport in use" in the dropdown control where you change comports.
in short:  change a value in the registry


If you feel the love,  https://www.patreon.com/iceman1001

modhex(hkhehghthbhudcfcdchkigiehgduiehg)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB