Proxmark developers community

Research, development and trades concerning the powerful Proxmark3 device.

Remember; sharing is caring. Bring something back to the community.


"Learn the tools of the trade the hard way." +Fravia

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-01-05 06:06:43

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

PM3 LCD

I've uploaded the required files to build the portable LCD version PM3 for those that were keen on it. Currently sitting in /Uploads but Roel might move them to /Hardware Revisions/experimental/PM3-LCD soon wink

All the parts required to build it can be obtained from 3 suppliers, PCB from batchpcb.com (3 weeks lead), LCD from sparkfun.com (1 week) everything else from Digikey.com (1 week).

Read the readme file, any other questions, post them here on the forum and I'll answer them. As I've said before, I've built this already and field tested it without any real issues but I sent the assembled device to someone. I have more parts coming next week to make another one for myself.

I understand that most people don't want to make their own due to the difficulty of soldering small parts. I'm half thinking at looking into getting some assembled. If for argument's sake a complete board cost, say $350 USD (same as the original PM3) would you consider purchasing?

4247225606_939c63f8c7_m.jpg 4247225730_91878b45d0_m.jpg

Last edited by d18c7db (2010-01-05 06:32:54)

Offline

#2 2010-01-06 17:09:13

gerhard
Contributor
Registered: 2008-05-21
Posts: 5

Re: PM3 LCD

Hey d18c7db,

really really cool what you did! So there is even a memory card on-board? That means big opportunities for a stand-alone device.

Best regards,
gerhard

Offline

#3 2010-01-06 20:10:39

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

Thanks Gerhard, yes a uSD card opens up big doors storage wise. I only got as far as sending/receiveing raw packets to the uSD but haven't done the high level filesystem access yet. I was considering http://code.google.com/p/minini/wiki/FatFs

If you're interested read the readme file (the newer one wink ) in the Upload directory for details of what's changed compared to the original. I'm always open to suggestions and feedback.

Offline

#4 2010-01-06 23:41:35

bushing
Contributor
Registered: 2008-10-14
Posts: 42

Re: PM3 LCD

Neat, can you post the Eagle files / gerbers, too?

It looks like that link is the same thing as the Elmchan FatFS (http://elm-chan.org/fsw/ff/00index_e.html) -- in which case, yeah, it's a great library, I've used it in a couple of other projects (e.g. http://bootmii.org/about/, http://tinyurl.com/mini-ff-c, and older versions of http://wiibrew.org/wiki/Twilight_Hack).

Looks like a nice design -- what are you using for a battery?  Have you looked into a cheaper source for the LCD screens?

Offline

#5 2010-01-07 02:05:26

danymag
Contributor
Registered: 2010-01-01
Posts: 17

Re: PM3 LCD

The features you added sound GREAT and I would have totally wanted one had I not bought my proxmark just 3 weeks ago.

Offline

#6 2010-01-07 06:53:15

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

Yeah elm-chan ff, the other link was the the first that came up in my screwy google search and I was posting in a rush.

Bootmii is great, I've never had to use it in anger, just backups so far. That and bannerbomb+HBC+USBloaderGX are the best things ever smile saves me having to go anywhere near that despicable optical media that I hate so much.

Battery can be any single cell LiPo, I personally bought some cheap LiPo off dealextreme.com, it was actually a 2S type 7.4v so I pulled out the 2 cells and used just one of them and kept one as spare.

The LCD I chose a while back mainly because there used to be some quite a few being sold on ebay, often a pack of 5 for $10 though I haven't seen them lately. Sparkfun is OK for one off hobby use however for quantity one would have to look to China suppliers.

Eagle sources will be definitely released, just not yet. What I've done so far is the best I could think to keep it "open", ie you've got everything you need to build your own if you choose to.

Offline

#7 2010-01-07 12:24:34

rule
Administrator
Registered: 2008-05-21
Posts: 416

Re: PM3 LCD

You upgraded the proxmark to a very pretty device smile
Does this board now uses 2 layers in stead of 4?
Are you going to try to add a touchscreen (the one Tom is using?) on this device?
I can help you out since I will be looking into this for Tom.

It would be awesome to have a fancy standalone proxmark!

Offline

#8 2010-01-07 14:27:31

proxcat
Contributor
Registered: 2008-11-28
Posts: 62
Website

Re: PM3 LCD

Really impressive work. What about plans for software? Have you already created a UI making use of the joystick and LCD? Maybe you could post a video of the PM4 in operation smile


[url=http://proxmark3.com/]Buy a Proxmark[/url]

Offline

#9 2010-01-07 16:02:38

novel
Member
Registered: 2010-01-07
Posts: 1

Re: PM3 LCD

A neat GUI will be developed really soon. I'll use the LCD of this 2-layer board to create some data plots even smile

Once that is done I'll make a video and post it here.

Offline

#10 2010-01-07 19:39:33

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

novel: just as long as you can make do with only 128x128 pixels

proxcat: search youtube for proxmark3, it's the only hit. You must not have read the forum in ages, that link was posted a couple of times before wink

roel: I've no idea what screen Tom is using, the only reference to that screen in his blog goes to a 404 page in chinese. If it's the one I think it is (same as this Newhaven display then it won't be that easy as it's a parallel bus display requiring at least 12 lines which the ARM is kind of short of. It's a shame because the ILI9325 display controller supports 3 pin SPI access but the display datasheet doesn't show the SPI bus being brought out to the outside world. I'm of course open to ideas as to how this could be accomplished.

Offline

#11 2010-01-10 23:37:20

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

I've had a number of requests for the serial port of the ARM to be brought out to a header. I've done this in the latest revision of the board (not released yet). I'm very reluctant to have a bunch of different board revisions floating around out there and I would be very pleased to finalize the board features.

Are there any other requests/wishlist features that do not require too much effort or board space or add significant cost that you'd like to see? No promisses, but if there's something easy, I'll consider adding it before fully finalizing the design and adding it to batchpcb as an orderable item.

As an aside, I've also made a USB based JTAG programmer based on the block diagram published by Amontech. It is therefore 100% compatible with Amontec's JTAGkey (especially if you program the onboard eeprom with the same USB VID/PID and description as the Amontec JTAGkey wink ). Due to the fact that the circuit is based on the standard FTDI reference design, the Amontech compatible pinout and the limited choice of dual voltage output buffers, the final design ended up being far too similar to one published by Modular Circuits and therefore hard to prove it was conceived independently. As such, it is subject to their non-comercial license. I therefore went all (the rest of) the way and used the same pinout between the FTDI chip and buffers as per their schematic and incorporated one design aspect I didn't have and they did, namely the FET based target voltage detection (you can see it in the picture as the oddly angled FET soldered to the board). One addition that the modularcircuits doesn't have, is to bring out the second port of the FTDI chip to a berg strip header, including GND and supply pins, threfore it could be plugged into a protoboard and the second channel used for bit banging and general hacking.

The PCB was designed from scratch and is entirely different from theirs, but still subject to the same license, as I understand it. The prototype was built and tested successfully (it's what I use these days for JTAG debugging).

If there is interest, I could release the sources (including all the post prototype changes), remember the non-commercial licence... Overall size of the device is about the same as a matchbox.

4247225842_87e14c4590.jpg

Offline

#12 2010-01-11 02:45:04

henryk
Contributor
Registered: 2009-07-27
Posts: 99

Re: PM3 LCD

One thing that has always bugged me about the proxmark design is the limited connectivity between ARM and FPGA. There's basically just SSC, and if the number of pins is not enough to do whatever you're planning in bit-banging mode you have to use an SSC protocol, which leads to a number of interesting issues. So the single biggest (and easiest, i suppose) feature request I'd have is: connect all unused pins from the ARM to the FPGA. (I guess it basically doesn't matter where on the FPGA, since it's configurable, but the ARM has a couple of special pins which will be helpful, especially those that correspond to timer/counter channels.)

Second simple point: Make pin 55 of the ARM (ERASE) easier to access through a test point (does not even need the fancy test points JW was using, a simple blank spot on the PCB will do). This is the pin which is necessary to reset the flash if you've set the Security Bit to disable JTAG, which I've done on some devices to prevent my Legic code from leaking out. It's not a big necessity, I now can reliably find pin 55 on the current board design, but would be nice.

Third point, pure eye candy: Preferably connect LEDs to PWM outputs on the ARM.

Fourth point, sanity: Make the USB-Pullup low-active, as in the ARM reference designs. The Westhues design has a pull-up that is high active, which leads to many a USB error message when plugging the device into a linux box since the ARM reset state is all pins high.

(Note: These are my general thoughts on the proxmark design, I haven't had time to look at your board yet. :-)

Offline

#13 2010-01-11 03:19:35

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

All very good points and I will take them onboard. If/when you do get the time to look at it, I would appreciate your feedback.

Offline

#14 2010-01-12 00:04:20

brokentesting
Member
Registered: 2008-11-22
Posts: 13

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db,


Do what you have to do, I am interested in purchasing your version

Please let me know when it is ready!

Thanks

Offline

#15 2010-01-17 18:53:23

bobdole84
Member
Registered: 2010-01-14
Posts: 1

Re: PM3 LCD

I have been very tempted to get current version being sold since i heard about it on Exotic Liability.  But i would much rather wait for this version.

Offline

#16 2010-02-06 11:47:41

XEROEFFECT
Contributor
From: Sydney Australia
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 132

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db, Whats the latest with the LCD PM3? When will I be able to get one?


If ya don't know, ask!

Offline

#17 2010-02-07 00:05:48

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

I'm working on bolting on a 320x240 LCD touch panel so currently going through the whole making a test PCB process...

Offline

#18 2010-02-09 02:34:39

symphys
Member
Registered: 2010-02-09
Posts: 1

Re: PM3 LCD

Sweet! Here I was so excited, ready to order but this is going to be even better...

Any estimates (week/month) on the final design?

Offline

#19 2010-02-09 19:37:10

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

A few weeks. China is having their New Year now so the PCB will be delayed.

Offline

#20 2010-02-11 00:03:48

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

FPGA pins, I have to write a bidirectional SPI to parallel converter in verilog...

Offline

#21 2010-02-13 11:40:20

XEROEFFECT
Contributor
From: Sydney Australia
Registered: 2009-07-20
Posts: 132

Re: PM3 LCD

Hey d18c7db,  keep the KISS method in mind on this one. I'm calling mine PPM (Portable Proxmark) smile


If ya don't know, ask!

Offline

#22 2010-02-13 13:11:32

danymag
Contributor
Registered: 2010-01-01
Posts: 17

Re: PM3 LCD

For performing MITM attacks without going back and forward through the USB which inserts big delays, could it be possible to connect two proxmarks together in a simple way ?

This is a feature that I suspect not many will use but very nice to have so testpoints for the interconnection would be great.

Offline

#23 2010-03-13 13:44:43

jonor
Contributor
Registered: 2009-09-17
Posts: 95

Re: PM3 LCD

@d18c7db any news for buy a PM3-LCD or PM4, I don't know the new name.

Offline

#24 2010-03-14 12:28:49

Topher
Member
Registered: 2010-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db wrote:

I'm working on bolting on a 320x240 LCD touch panel so currently going through the making a test PCB process...


Do you have a model number (or a link) for this 320x240 LCD touch panel?

In your opinion would it be worth waiting for you to finish testing this pcb and touch panel?

compared to the LCD edition will the other parts be about the same?

The reason i ask is i am currently acquiring the parts, via free samples and other means. I was going to buy the PCB for proxmark3-LCD-v17 from Batch PCB (http://batchpcb.com/index.php/Products/25604) in the next week or so.

But I will be fine with holding off if you plan to release this version, and I will just continue to get the parts that are listed in the proxmark3-LCD-v17 BOM .. and hopefully there won't be too many differences because I would hate to get them all then have the parts undergo a dramatic change.

Touch Screen sounds flipping awesome though, I kind of want to wait to be able to use it. however if the screen alone is worth more than $100 it might put the entire build just out of reach, and I'll need to go back to the Nokia LCD version.

Offline

#25 2010-03-14 21:56:19

d18c7db
Contributor
Registered: 2008-08-19
Posts: 292

Re: PM3 LCD

The screen is worth $18 in singles however the factory only ship via DHL for $50 and only accept Western Union or Telegraphic Transfer (extra few dollars for that). The display is the KWH028Q06-F02 from Wandisplay.

I haven't even fitted the LCD to the prototype yet as I came across a weird bug in HF path of the analog section which I'm trying to get to the bottom of. Since the schematic hasn't changed since the last working prototype, it's either a PCB production issue, component failure or some weird layout issue.

Given that, and the cost of the LCD plus shipping, you'd be better off going for the v17 board if you want something quickly.

Offline

#26 2010-03-20 03:02:12

xmikee
Member
Registered: 2010-03-19
Posts: 2

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db wrote:

The screen is worth $18 in singles however the factory only ship via DHL for $50 and only accept Western Union or Telegraphic Transfer (extra few dollars for that). The display is the KWH028Q06-F02 from Wandisplay.

I haven't even fitted the LCD to the prototype yet as I came across a weird bug in HF path of the analog section which I'm trying to get to the bottom of. Since the schematic hasn't changed since the last working prototype, it's either a PCB production issue, component failure or some weird layout issue.

Given that, and the cost of the LCD plus shipping, you'd be better off going for the v17 board if you want something quickly.

Hi can you let me know when you are finished with the PM3 Tscreen, would like to buy a few off you,

Brilliant Work

Offline

#27 2010-03-21 12:59:49

Topher
Member
Registered: 2010-02-10
Posts: 4

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db wrote:

Given that, and the cost of the LCD plus shipping, you'd be better off going for the v17 board if you want something quickly.

I am in no rush, and it seems to be worth waiting for. Just for the coolness factor tongue

I am at uni till June/July so I won't be able to properly do it until then, I know what I am like and if I get into it too soon I will neglect uni. Not A good thing.

As the dates get closer I will consider my options, it would be nice to have all the parts/pcb waiting for me when I start mid year holidays. So I don't need to waste anytime and can jump straight into it. i will just need to keep an eye on this thread and see how you are going with it.

Perhaps a few of us should all go in and order some of the touch screens together, if you finalize the design. Hopefully it will make it cheaper in the long run.

Offline

#28 2010-03-21 20:33:25

elektryk
Contributor
Registered: 2009-09-10
Posts: 43

Re: PM3 LCD

I have a question about functionality. Does PM3 LCD work as Proxmark? I mean can it sniff data, work as reader etc? How about PC software is it still compatible?

About a price, if it cost $200 or less I will think about fully assembled version.

Last edited by elektryk (2010-03-21 20:34:44)

Offline

#29 2010-11-17 22:47:33

Magneto
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 8

Re: PM3 LCD

I must be dense, but I can't for the life of me figure out how to navigate to the "/Uploads" or "/Hardware Revisions/experimental/PM3-LCD" directories that [d18c7db] references in the very first post to this forum string.  Anyone want to clue me in? 

I just ordered the Proxmark3, and look forward to firing it up.  I like the idea of the LCD enhancement for a more capable standalone operation.

Offline

#30 2010-11-17 23:02:16

Magneto
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 8

Re: PM3 LCD

P.S. I think I'm slowly gathering that the proxmark LCD board available at batchpcb.com is not an add-on board, but rather a new base board upon which to build an entire proxmark3. A little out of my level of familiarity with electronics.  Good thing I figured this out before clicking "buy" for $32!

Offline

#31 2010-11-24 18:30:07

fixer
Member
Registered: 2010-11-20
Posts: 6

Re: PM3 LCD

@Magneto - Yes, the product at batchpcb is just the raw circuit board. You still have to buy all of the components and then have the soldering skills to solder surface mount components. This is an acquired skill and most people ruin several boards and/or components while learning.

Offline

#32 2011-09-29 13:50:07

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

d18c7db wrote:

I haven't even fitted the LCD to the prototype yet as I came across a weird bug in HF path of the analog section which I'm trying to get to the bottom of. Since the schematic hasn't changed since the last working prototype, it's either a PCB production issue, component failure or some weird layout issue.

Hello,
I built the PM3LCD v17 and it seems to work fine except that for HF (I'm testing with Mifare 1K) where I can snoop communications without problems, but the PM3 seems unable to read the card (issuing 'hf 14a reader' is unable to identify the card (and this works with the standard PM3)).
Did you fixed your issues with HF path?
May I need to patch the code/PCB?

Thank you very much for sharing your design with us.

Offline

#33 2011-09-29 14:50:15

vivat
Contributor
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 332

Re: PM3 LCD

Cex
Sorry for offtopic, but how did you get the pcb?Did you made your own or bought it on batchpcb.com? I'm very interested in fully portable pm3.

Offline

#34 2011-09-29 15:13:09

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

The track sizes and clearances are very small and there are lots of vias, so I ordered from BatchPCB.
For the components I bought most of them from Digikey.

Offline

#35 2011-09-29 17:27:02

vivat
Contributor
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 332

Re: PM3 LCD

Cex
check this out:
http://wiki.032.la/index.php?title=Prox … oldid=2179
BTW d18c7db has visited this forum very long time ago:
http://www.proxmark.org/forum/search.ph … ser_id=120

Offline

#36 2011-10-05 09:02:45

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

vivat wrote:

Cex
check this out:
http://wiki.032.la/index.php?title=Prox … oldid=2179
BTW d18c7db has visited this forum very long time ago:
http://www.proxmark.org/forum/search.ph … ser_id=120

Yes, I alredy knew that page. I used some of the info to assemble the PM3LCD and to build up the SW, but it also contains a link to this thread mentioning the HF path problems.

Has anyone else built the LCD version of PM3? Is the HF working? (I'd like to know if is a HW problem of SW issue).

Thank you anyway for your answers.

Offline

#37 2011-10-06 08:56:27

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

Cex wrote:

Yes, I alredy knew that page. I used some of the info to assemble the PM3LCD and to build up the SW, but it also contains a link to this thread mentioning the HF path problems.

Has anyone else built the LCD version of PM3? Is the HF working? (I'd like to know if is a HW problem of SW issue).

Thank you anyway for your answers.

Just in case anyone is interested, d18c7db has confirmed that the v1.7 had no problems with HF path, so I'll check my board for correct values of components and the SW for coerrectness.

Offline

#38 2011-10-10 12:11:46

mysx
Member
Registered: 2010-08-23
Posts: 5

Re: PM3 LCD

I also have problems with HF. I build pm3_lcd myself. It only can read LF tag. I use ADC08L060CIMT chip. Picture is here. http://hi.baidu.com/xtigmh/blog/item/94 … 4bd5d.html

Last edited by mysx (2011-10-11 14:55:29)

Offline

#39 2011-10-10 13:58:08

vivat
Contributor
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 332

Re: PM3 LCD

is it possible(painless) to use existing code from SVN with this version of proxmark?

Offline

#40 2011-10-10 15:10:56

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

vivat wrote:

is it possible(painless) to use existing code from SVN with this version of proxmark?

NO. You at least need to recompile the FPGA with the new UCF file and the MUX_LO/MUX_HI outputs, and the ARM code with the new pin assigment that also changes.
The changes are not too many, but the code is not usable without modifications.

I have checked that ISO 15B reader works, so it may be a problem with the SW or FPGA code related to 14A mode.
Anyway I'm reviewing all the changes to find the problem, and I'm trying to check the HF path with an oscilloscope, but I can't find the time to do it. I will post if I find which the problem was.

Offline

#41 2011-10-18 07:03:43

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

Not yet, but I noticed some strange behaviour with 'hw tune' command.
The resulting plot in PM3LCD is different from PM3 (it looks like the samples from ADC were signed instead of unsigned), but I have checked the datasheets and both ADCs provide the same format (unsigned), so I'll check the OPAMP levels.

Will keep you informed.

Offline

#42 2011-10-20 09:06:47

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

This is the plot of the tune command.
As you can see the plot is not continous...
Any idea why? I have checked both ADCs datasheets and both provide unsigned samples.

Tune_plot.jpg

Maybe I have swapped some components in the analog front-end?
The output of the tune command for LF looks too high (note also the low value at 134.00 KHz, that matches the graph):

Connected units:
        1. SN: ChangeMe [bus-0/\\.\libusb0-0001--0x9ac4-0x4b8f]
proxmark3> hw tune
#db# Measuring antenna characteristics, please wait.


# LF antenna: 58.54 V @   125.00 kHz
# LF antenna:  1.60 V @   134.00 kHz
# LF optimal: 59.48 V @   134.83 kHz
# HF antenna: 11.41 V @    13.56 MHz

Regards,
Cex.

Offline

#43 2011-11-18 07:45:22

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

Yes and no...

I added some debug to the mifare code and this is what I get:

With PM3LCD (wrong):

proxmark3> hf 14a reader
#db# 14aconn
#db# setfpga
#db# field_on
#db# tx WUPA: 52
#db# RX: 01 8F
#db# tx WUPA: 93 20
#db# RX: 01 8F E2 C9 C9
#db# tx SELUID: 93 70 01 8F E2 C9 C9 29 B7
#db# no resp
iso14443a card select failed

With PM3 (ok):

proxmark3> hf 14a reader
#db# 14aconn
#db# setfpga
#db# field_on
#db# tx WUPA: 52
#db# RX: 02 00
#db# tx WUPA: 93 20
#db# RX: DD 4A 1B 2F A3
#db# tx SELUID: 93 70 DD 4A 1B 2F A3 9F 0B
#db# RX: 18 37 CD
#db# NO 14a
ATQA : 02 00
 UID : dd 4a 1b 2f 00 00 00 00 40 00 00 00
 SAK : 18 [2]
 SAK : MIFARE CLASSIC 4K
proprietary non-iso14443a card found, RATS not supported

I'm going to snoop the communication between PM3LCD and card using the normal PM3 to check if the data is OK "in the air" and is the PM3LCD interpreting it wrong, or it is sending faulty commands, but it's taking a little longer as I had to modify the bootloader/flasher to support the 512K (it defaults to 256K) as I ran out of space when adding the debug and some menu options for HF.

Will keep you informed.

Offline

#44 2011-11-22 04:11:42

mysx
Member
Registered: 2010-08-23
Posts: 5

Re: PM3 LCD

hello Cex, My pm3_lcd still can't read Mifare tag.iso14443a card select failed.  Do you think there is problem with hardware? I will try at91sam7s256 chip next. Wish you solve this problem!

Last edited by mysx (2011-11-22 04:12:16)

Offline

#45 2011-11-22 11:33:06

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

I'm already debugging this problem, but I compared the demodulator output of an standard PM3 and the PM3LCD and it looks like the PM3LCD is not transmitting the commands to the tag.
As the ISO15 seems to work fine, as well as the ISO14A snooping I don't think it is a HW problem.
Now I'm reviewing SSC configuration and FPGA code (it raises a lot of warnings when compiling for the new FPGA).
Will keep you informed, but I'm going too slow due to lack of spare time.

Regards.

Offline

#46 2011-11-22 14:16:54

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

OK, had moved from my crappy oscilloscope to a Tek 100MHz@500MSa/S and I have seen that the commands are sent and a response is got form the card (althought it looks not very well shaped).
I need to compare to the normal proxmark (working one) to test for timings and waveform shapes, but it looks like the response is not good enough in terms of waveform shape (maybe the antenna has not enough voltage, although I have measured around 11Vpp when running from battery, providing a 2Vpp envelope at the ADC input), or the response is being lost somewhere in the RX path (not likely as it snoops properly).

Sometimes I got the SW to receive a response and go for the next command, but the responses do not look good (the SAK and UID are not OK and are different on different runs).

I'll try to borrow the scope and compare both proxmarks side-by-side.

Regards,
Cex.

Offline

#47 2011-11-22 15:22:08

Bugman1400
Contributor
Registered: 2010-12-20
Posts: 132

Re: PM3 LCD

Are you performing all this experimentation with the LCD active? Try using the same PM3LCD and unplug the LCD. I wonder if RF from the LCD is causing the PM3 not to send or receive the commands correctly.

.....just a thought.

Offline

#48 2011-11-22 15:51:12

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

Bugman1400 wrote:

Are you performing all this experimentation with the LCD active? Try using the same PM3LCD and unplug the LCD. I wonder if RF from the LCD is causing the PM3 not to send or receive the commands correctly.

.....just a thought.

Good point.
I'll try to remove the LCD and disable the backlight converter as it switched at 2.4MHz (according to datasheet and could be interfering).

Will post on results later...

Offline

#49 2011-11-22 19:19:18

Cex
Contributor
Registered: 2009-12-14
Posts: 104

Re: PM3 LCD

Tried without LCD and backlight converted disabled and got same results.

Thanks anyway, any idea is welcome.

Offline

#50 2011-11-29 10:22:11

vivat
Contributor
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 332

Re: PM3 LCD

Can it simulate ISO15693 tag in standalone mode, with battery?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB